Adult lesson from Vacation Bible School

I am a crew leader for 3-5 years old during my church’s vacation Bible school.  Last night was our first night, and boy did it speak to us as adults as well.  I am often amazed by how God relates everything back to ourselves, our lives, and our journey.

As adults we find our own faults and focus on those.  My hair is too straight, or too curly.  I do not like the freckles on my face.  I do not like the size of my chest, waist, or any other body part.  We then focus on these parts because we do not like them.  Have you ever stepped back to think that God created your body.  He knew how your hair, your face, and your body would be.  I am not saying just let yourself go and not take care of yourself because God made it, as we still need to take care of our body.  I am just saying that God loves us just as we are, so why do we not love ourselves?

God also knew that we would have infertility, so how do we handle that aspect?  God had a plan when he created us the way that he did.  We may not know that plan, but He does. He knew every part of our body just look at what the Bible tells us.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”   Jeremiah 1:5 (NIV) 

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful,
I know that full well. 
My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. 
Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written
in your book before one of them came to be. 
How precious to me are your thoughts, God! How vast is the sum of them! 
Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand— when I awake, I am still with you.  Psalm 139:13-18
You are probably wondering how this connects to vacation Bible school.  The memory verse for the children was Amazingly and Wonderfully Made (Psalm 139:13-16).  They had the children repeating I am wonderfully made Psalm 139:14.  To stand in a room with around 20 children yelling I am wonderfully made brought tears to my eyes.  Why can’t we as adults see it that way?  Why is it so hard for us to be content with our bodies.  I know the hurt and the pain of our bodies has a huge impact on our lives, but shouldn’t God have a bigger impact on our lives?
Later in the night they would ask the kids who made you and the kids would respond “God made me”.  They would scream this at the top of their lungs because of their joy in this statement.  We as adults need to remember that God made us too!  We need to be screaming that with excitement, we need to tell the world that, and tell each other that God made them as well.
I hope today you will take the time to remind yourself that you are wonderfully made by God!  How amazing is that to hear on a Monday morning!
Have a beautiful day!
~ Chrissy
Leave a Reply

